Communicable Diseases Surveillance Protocols

​In accordance with section 4 of Regulation 965 under the Public Hospitals Act, the Communicable Disease Surveillance Protocols Committee (CDSPC) establishes and provides for the operation of a health surveillance program which applies to all people who carry out activities within hospitals.

CDSPC membership includes physicians and nurses with expertise in infectious diseases, as well as specialists in occupational health, microbiology and public health.

All protocols developed with respect to a particular communicable disease are published jointly by the Ontario Hospital Association and the Ontario Medical Association, and subject to approval by the Minister of Health. 

Current Protocols and Reference Documents

 Adenovirus Protocol (October 2017)
 Antibiotic Resistant Organisms (May 2019)
 Blood Borne Diseases Protocol (November 2018)
 CDSPC Background Information
 Cytomegalovirus (May 2019)
 Enteric Diseases Protocol (October 2017)
 Group A Streptococcal Protocol (November 2018)
 Herpes Simplex Protocol (November 2018)
 Measles Protocol (May 2019)
 Meningococcal Disease Protocol (October 2017)
 Mumps Protocol (May 2019)
 Parvovirus Protocol (November 2018)
 Pertussis Protocol (October 2017)
 Rubella Protocol (May 2019)
 Sample Medical Directive
 Scabies Protocol (June 2018)
 Tuberculosis Protocol (June 2018)
 Varicella/Zoster (June 2018)